Daily Archives: September 29, 2008

Book Awards II

I didn’t participate last year but ran across this new challenge just recently. The goal is to read 10 books from August 1, 2008 – June 1, 2009. You have to choose from at least five different eligible award lists (ie Pulitzer, Agatha, etc).

Here’s a partial list I will be choosing from:

  • Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen (Alex Awards)
  • The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield (Alex Awards)
  • My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult (Alex Awards)
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (Alex Awards)
  • the Curious Incident of Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon (Costa/Whitbread)
  • Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier (National Book Award)
  • Atonement by Ian McEwan (National Book Critics’ Circle Award)
  • A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley (Pulitzer Prize)
  • Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes (Nebula Award)

Completed Books in Challenge:

  1. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult (Alex Awards) – SEPTEMBER
  2. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen (Alex Awards) – OCTOBER
  3. A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier by Ishmael Beah (Alex Awards) – OCTOBER
  4. B is for Burglar by Sue Grafton (Anthony Awards) – NOVEMBER
  5. Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes (Nebula Award) – NOVEMBER
  6. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (Alex Awards) – NOVEMBER
  7. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Hugo Award) – DECEMBER
  8. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey¬† Niffenegger (Alex Award) – DECEMBER
  9. Stiff by Mary Roach (Alex Award) – DECEMBER
  10. Middlesex (Pulitzer) – JANUARY

1 Comment

Filed under Book Awards, challenges

Weekly Geeks #18.2

As¬† I said before, I was pretty caught up on everything when I joined Weekly Geeks but I’ve been spending a lot of time exploring my new challenges and groups.

The 24 Hour Read-A-Thon is coming up quickly so I’ve been trying to think hard about what books I want to read and how much I am planning on participating. A few book ideas are:

  • Away Laughing on a Fast Camel by Louise Rennison
  • Dancing in My Nuddy Pants by Louise Rennison
  • Cat and Mouse by James Patterson
  • Eight Tales of Terror by Edgar Allan Poe
  • Four Past Midnight by Stephen King
  • Journals by Kurt Cobain

Here is the status of my current challenges:

  • 888 Challenge (68/80 plus 6 extra credit books in finished categories)
  • 50 Book Challenge (75/50)
  • Dewey Decimal Challenge (30/1000 categories finished)
  • Library of Congress Challenge (20 categories finished)
  • A-Z Challenge (19 authors, 21 books)
  • 1,001 Books (38/1,001)
  • TBR Challenge (starting next year)

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Geek

Weekly Geeks #19

In preparation for the Weekly Geeks top books of 2008, we’re creating our lists of the best books we’ve read that were published in 2008.

I’ve read more than I thought and I enjoyed every single one. Here’s my list:

  • Wednesday Sisters by Meg Waite Clayton
  • The Wishing Year by Noelle Oxenhandler
  • Between Here and April by Deborah Copaken Kogan
  • Say Goodbye by Lisa Gardner
  • Stori Telling by Tori Spelling
  • 7th Heaven by James Patterson
  • Smoke Screen by Sandra Brown
  • Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs
  • Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer
  • Sundays at Tiffany’s by James Patterson

I think of these Breaking Dawn was probably the best and most interesting. 7th Heaven was my quickest read from this list, like most James Patterson books. Each was very unique in it’s own way, and only two were non-fiction, which continues to prove that I read more general fiction than anything else.

3 Comments

Filed under Weekly Geek