Daily Archives: June 1, 2009

this month in movies – may

3389145095_da30826bec(photo courtesy of flickr)

I believe I slacked off more in my movie watching this month, but I watched more TV shows than normal, catching up on the DVR and primetime finales.

Favorites:

  • Taking Chance
  • Battle in Seattle

The List – MAY:

  1. House: Season 2
  2. Bride Wars
  3. Spy Game
  4. Sleepers
  5. Live Free or Die Hard
  6. The Women
  7. Mad Max: Road Warrior
  8. Personal Effects
  9. Hounddog
  10. House: Season 3
  11. Cleopatra
  12. Mean Girls
  13. Marty
  14. True Lies
  15. Phantom of the Opera
  16. Taking Chance
  17. The House Bunny
  18. Fried Green Tomatoes
  19. Battle in Seattle
  20. Body of Lies
  21. New in Town
  22. Guess Who
  23. Diamonds are Forever
  24. True Blood: Season 1 (again!)

What I Want to Watch in June:

  • House: Season 4
  • Mad Men: Season 1
  • Wolverine
  • Angels and Demons
  • Ghosts of Girlfriends Past
  • Soloist
  • Revolutionary Road
  • Defiance
  • The International

Leave a comment

Filed under This Week

May 2009 Review

At least it’s a record that I read more books in general than added to my shelves, but only managed to read 6 off my own. It was a heavy graphic novel reading month, which is sure to go down in the following month because I have lot more planned to read in regards to books off my shelves. I also don’t anticipate any buying of books once again, but one can never tell. My goal for June is to finish the books required for two challenges finishing up at the end of the month, and as always, reading more books off my shelves.

Books Read:

  1. Sin City: A Dame to Kill For (Vol. 2) by Frank Miller
  2. Sin City: The Big Fat Kill (Vol. 3) by Frank Miller
  3. The Daring Book for Girls by Andrea J. Buchanan (TBR)
  4. Sin City: That Yellow Bastard (Vol. 4) by Frank Miller
  5. The Dirty Secrets Club by Meg Gardiner (TBR)
  6. Mommywood by Tori Spelling
  7. Size 12 is Not Fat by Meg Cabot
  8. Step on a Crack by James Patterson (TBR)
  9. Daniel X: Alien Hunter by James Patterson
  10. Watchmen by Alan Moore
  11. Sin City: Family Values (Vol. 5) by Frank Miller
  12. Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris (TBR)
  13. Fried Green Tomatoes by Fannie Flagg (TBR)
  14. Atonement by Ian McEwan (TBR)

Books Added:

  1. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capota
  2. Transforming Grace by Jerry Bridges
  3. Eats, Shoots and Leaves by Lynne Truss
  4. Danny and the Dinosaur by Syd Hoff
  5. Vanishing Acts by Jodi Picoult
  6. The Reader by Bernhard Schlink
  7. Seven Up by Janet Evanovich
  8. The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
  9. Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews
  10. Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard
  11. Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt
  12. The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx
  13. Club Dead by Charlaine Harris

Challenges Finished: Book Into Movie Challenge, 2nds Challenge
Challenges Joined: Book Awards III, 999×2 Challenge

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Living Dead in Dallas

living-dead-in-dallasTitle: Living Dead in Dallas
Author: Charlaine Harris
Finished: May 24, 2009
Pages: 291
Published: 2002

The second book in the Sookie Stackhouse series, soon to be the season 2 of True Blood on HBO. This edition was just as good as the first, which was unexpected for me. I didn’t know what was going to happen but was actually pleasantly surprised but much of what did occur.

Sookie is sent with Bill to Dallas by Eric when a vampire goes missing. What the find it far from what they believed could be going on and Sookie is soon caught in the middle of an evil plan.

It becomes harder to discuss series of books as you read further on because you don’t want readers to find out something from the previous books let alone any big spoilers for the current one. Needless to say, I really enjoyed this book and immediately went out and bought Club Dead which I will be starting this week.

Challenges: 999 Challenge, 100+ Challenge, RYOB Challenge, 2nds Challenge, Vampire Challenge, Love Bites

Other Reviews: Reading With Tequila, Royal Reviews

10 Comments

Filed under adapted to film, author: charlaine harris, Fiction

Book Into Movie Challenge 09 – COMPLETE

This was a very fun challenge, not hard really, but I know I ended up adding more to my list than I expected. I gave myself the goal of 20 books because I knew I would just keep reading them anyway. Maybe at the end of the year I will tally up how many I did read and use that as a goal for next year.

My list:

  1. Moby Dick by Herman Melville (book) – finished Jan. 16, 2009
  2. The Witches by Roald Dahl (book) - finished Jan. 24, 2009
  3. The Reader by Bernhard Schlink (book) – finished Jan. 25, 2009
  4. Persepolis I by Marjane Satrapi (book) – finished Jan. 30, 2009
    Persepolis II by Marjane Satrapi (book) – finished Feb. 13, 2009
  5. Spiderwick Chronicles Series (book) – finished Feb. 8, 2009
  6. Matilda by Road Dahl (book) – finished Feb. 11, 2009
  7. A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley (book) – finished Feb. 16, 2009
  8. East of Eden by John Steinbeck (book) – finished Mar. 15, 2009
  9. Mystic River by Dennis Lehane (book) - finished Mar. 15, 2009
  10. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis (book) - finished Mar. 27, 2009
  11. Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris (book) – finished Mar. 28, 2009
  12. Sin City: the Hard Goodbye (Vol. 1) by Frank Miller (book) – finished Mar. 29, 2009
  13. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd (book) – finished Apr. 3, 2009
  14. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks (book) – finished Apr. 4, 2009
  15. James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl (book) – finished Apr. 18, 2009
  16. 300 by Frank Miller (book) – finished Apr. 18, 2009
  17. 30 Days of Night by Steve Niles (book) – finished Apr. 18, 2009
  18. Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons (book) – finished Apr. 18, 2009
  19. Watchmen by Alan Moore (book) – finished May 23, 2009
  20. Fried Green Tomatoes by Fannie Flagg (book) – finished May 27, 2009

Leave a comment

Filed under challenges

Sin City: Family Values (Volume 5)

family valuesTitle: Sin City – Family Values
Author: Frank Miller
Finished: May 23, 2009
Pages: 126
Published: 1998

I’m over halfway through with the series, and I think this may have been my least favorite so far. So much so that I don’t remember a whole lot that went on during it.

Having been reading the series for so long and seen the movie a couple of times, I think these last few volumes aren’t going to be quite as fun, considering my favorite parts or the most exciting parts have already happened. I don’t even recall the Family Values volume from the film even.

I’m determined to finish the last two so I won’t be quiting but I might not read them quite so soon.

Challenges: 100+ Challenge, 999×2 Challenge

2 Comments

Filed under adapted to film, Graphic Novel

Watchmen

watchmenTitle: Watchmen
Author: Alan Moore
Finished: May 23, 2009
Pages: 408
Published: 1986

After a long wait at the library, I was finally able to read this long anticipated book. I had the debate over whether I should watch the movie first or read the graphic novel, but in the end I’m probably glad I read first before watching.

Watchmen, for those who don’t already know, is about the next generation of super heroes who come together when some of them start getting killed. It’s much more than that, but hard to explain in quick terms. The graphic novel was good, the longest one I’ve read so far, and at times I had to admit confusing in the beginning. Once I got into it more I was able to follow the character development and back stories.

I’m not sure how the movie compares but I’m looking forward to finding out soon.

Challenges: Book Into Movie, 999 Challenge, 100+ Challenge, New Authors Challenge, Book vs. Movie, 1% Well Read Challenge

6 Comments

Filed under adapted to film, Graphic Novel

It’s Monday. What are you reading?

on_mondays

It’s Monday! What are you reading this week? is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week.

I was out of town last Monday so I didn’t participate, but I thought this week I would still list the books I had read. I am behind on my reviews so hopefully I will get the rest posted today.

Read 2 weeks ago:

  • Step on a Crack by James Patterson
  • Daniel X: Alien Hunter by James Patterson
  • Watchmen by Alan Moore
  • Sin City: Family Values (Vol. 5) by Frank Miller
  • Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris

Read Last Week:

  • Fried Green Tomatoes by Fannie Flagg
  • Atonement by Ian McEwan

Reading This Week:

  • Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
  • Transforming Grace by Jerry Bridges
  • Club Dead by Charlaine Harris
  • The Emerald City of Oz by L. Frank Baum

5 Comments

Filed under This Week