Daily Archives: October 28, 2010

October 12 by 12 Reading Challenge

Hosted By: Book Crazy
October 1 – 31, 2010

I didn’t do very well in September but October is proving to be fruitful, even though it’s taken me forever to get this post up. Hopefully I will get November up before it’s almost over.

My LIST:

  1. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
  2. The Whispering Statue by Carolyn Keene
  3. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
  4. Plum Lucky by Janet Evanovich
  5. Late, Late at Night by Rick Springfield
  6. Sorry Right Number and Other Stories by Stephen King
  7. Stationary Bike by Stephen King
  8. The Haunted Bridge by Carolyn Keene

Leave a comment

Filed under challenges

Classics Challenge – COMPLETE


Hosted By Trish
April 1 – October 31, 2010

This was a fun challenge, even though I hardly read very many classics like I thought I would. I anticipated checking more off my list than I have so far, but I’m hopeful that next year I can do even better.

MY LIST:

  1. The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien
  2. Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien
  3. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  4. The Godfather by Mario Puzo

Leave a comment

Filed under challenges, Classics

REVIEW: The Godfather

Title: The Godfather
Author: Mario Puzo
Finished: September 30, 2010
Pages: 446
Published: 1969
Format: paperback/audiobook

Such an amazing book and experience, whether or not you’ve seen the movie this book is a must read!

The Godfather tells the story of a mob family, every mother, father and child, every aspect through the beginning when the Godfather got his start, to having children, running the family business, enforcing the rules, and eventually to his demise.

It was such a great story to read and be told. Every character is so unique and Puzo does an amazing job bringing the reader into this life and making you feel for everyone, regardless of their actions.

It’s hard to put into words this masterpiece, but I highly recommend it to everyone and I look forward to watching the movie again and gaining the full experience. I’ll probably even look into the other books in the series.

*challenges: fall into reading, 1010 category challenge, new author challenge, 1001 list, tbr reading challenge, ryob challenge, twentyten challenge, 100+ challenges, 30 books to movies, 1st in series challenge, 1% challenge, classics challenge, september 12×12 challenge

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1,001 Books, adapted to film, Fiction

REVIEW: The Mystery of the Ivory Charm

Title: The Mystery of the Ivory Charm
Author: Carolyn Keene
Finished: September 27, 2010
Pages: 192
Published: 1936
Format: hardback

From Wikipedia:

“What secret life-giving power does the exquisite ivory elephant charm contain? Can the trinket really protect its wearer from all harm?

Nancy Drew finds out when the owner of the Bengleton Wild-Animal Show asks her to investigate one of the performers who may be involved in some mysterious illegal scheme.

The girl detective’s assignment becomes complicated when the elephant trainer’s young assistant, Rishi, seeks refuge at the Drew home from his cruel foster father, Rai.

While following clues to help the boy find his real father, Nancy learns about an eerie abandoned house. She is harassed by its strange owner, Anita Allison, and the fiendish Rai.

How Nancy uses the ivory charm, reunites a maharaja with his son, and brings the evildoers to justice will mystify readers from beginning to end.”

I had a lot of fun reading this story and watching Nancy grow and decide if she should trust in the charm and its power or if it was all in her head. This series becomes more and more enjoyable with each book.

*challenges: fall into reading, monthly mixer mele, 1010 category challenge, 100+ challenge, nancy drew challenge, colorful reading challenge, september 12×12

Leave a comment

Filed under author: carolyn keene, Children

What’s on Your Nightstand? – November

I didn’t do quiet as well as I imagined I would with the books I had picked, but I read quick a lot more than I expected to considering how busy I felt I was. The year is coming to the home stretch and there are so many books I still want to read and not enough time to get them all in.

I was sad I missed out on the Fall Read-a-Thon but I’m hoping there will be another new years read-a-thon that I can participate in and get some good last minute reading in.

October’s List:

  1. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
  2. Four Past Midnight by Stephen King
  3. Plum Lucky by Janet Evanovich
  4. Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
  5. The Whispering Statue by Carolyn Keene
  6. The Haunted Bridge by Carolyn Keene
  7. The Clue of the Tapping Heels by Carolyn Keene
  8. The Mystery of the Brass Bound Trunk by Carolyn Keene
  9. The Mystery of the Moss Covered Mansion by Carolyn Keene
  10. The Apprentice by Tess Gerritsen

November’s List

  1. Four Past Midnight by Stephen King
  2. Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
  3. The Clue of the Tapping Heels by Carolyn Keene
  4. The Mystery of the Brass Bound Trunk by Carolyn Keene
  5. The Mystery of the Moss Covered Mansion by Carolyn Keene
  6. The Apprentice by Tess Gerritsen
  7. Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  8. Fearless Fourteen by Janet Evanovich
  9. Plum Spooky by Janet Evanovich
  10. Finger Lickin Fifteen by Janet Evanovich
  11. I, Alex Cross by James Patteson
  12. Exploiting Chaos by Jeremy Gutsche
  13. The Time of My Life by Patrick Swayze

Leave a comment

Filed under What's On Your Nightstand?