Daily Archives: April 8, 2011

24 Hour Read a Thon Tomorrow

Dewey’s 24 Hour Read a Thon starts tomorrow ….. are you ready?

I have my stack of books all lined up and easy food and drinks in the fridge. I’m ready to go.

Can’t wait to start (at 5am my time). Yikes!

Leave a comment

Filed under Read-A-Thon

REVIEW: The Sherlockian

Title: The Sherlockian
Author: Graham Moore
Finished: March 31, 2011
Pages: 350
Published: 2010
Format: First Edition

I saw this book awhile back in a store and it look intriguing, so when I ran across it at the library and I figured it was a sign.

The Sherlockian is a fictional account of the mystery behind the missing diary of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and the strange happenings that resulted.

While fictional, Moore used real life accounts, stories, news articles, and anything else he could find, plus a great imagination, to great a dual world of intrigue and mystery.

I love the way he sets up the book, alternating chapters between the present and the past, showing the time during the missing diary as well as the newest Sherlockian and his new reporter friend as they search for a killer and the missing diary.

It took me some time to get into the story, but once I had a grasp I found myself flying through the quick chapters, waiting for the next shoe to fall, mystery, clue or adventure. It almost felt as if I was reading a non-fiction story about the actual happenings and couldn’t help but sink deeper in, like I was right there with them.

Great book and good job!

*challenges: new authors, mystery & suspense challenge, 100+ challenge, support your local library challenge, 11 in 11 reading challenge, spring reading thing

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

REVIEW: Love, Lust & Faking It

Title: Love, Lust & Faking It
Author: Jenny McCarthy
Finished: March 28, 2011
Pages: 244
Published: 2010
Format: First Edition

I have no idea what prompted me to check this book out, aside from maybe the interesting cover and the mystery behind what McCarthy had to say on the subject. It definitely drew some looks from friends and family as I read and they wondered what in the world it was.

No mystery to published works, McCarthy held back nothing (except identities) in her newest book about dating, finding love, relationships, friendships, and anything you could think of regarding men.

A very quick read, I actually found myself agreeing with so many things, wishing I had this advice in advance, and holding some in my memory for the future. She brought humor and even some seriousness onto the table.

Very enjoyable. Possibly the next best thing to Chelsea Handler. Yeah!

*challenges: new authors challenge, 100+ challenge, support your local library challenge, 11 in 11 reading challenge, spring reading thing

Leave a comment

Filed under Non-Fiction

REVIEW: Sense & Sensibility & Sea Monsters

Title: Sense & Sensibility & Sea Monsters
Author: Jane Austen & Ben Winters
Finished: March 26, 2011
Pages: 343
Published: 2009
Format: paperback & audio

I’ve had this one on the shelf for awhile but found it in audio at the library so I thought it might be fun to listen and read at the same time.

While generally the same romantic love story that we are used to, I felt this one encompassed it’s quirky side a little more than Pride & Prejudice & Zombies did. Right from the start there were signs of sea creatures, the ocean, boats and underwater cities.

Being my second favorite Austen story, I was able to easily follow and enjoy this tale just as much as its original.

The Dashwood sisters find themselves in a new home after the death of their father, leaving them nearly poor and their mother wondering if they will ever have the chance to marry fine young men. It doesn’t help when they are relocated to a mysterious island that begins to take a life of its own, in more ways than one.

Great adventure and story. Almost like reading a whole new book.

*challenges: off the shelf challenge, new author challenge, 100+ challenge, a-z reading challenge, 11 in 11 challenge, spring reading thing

 

Leave a comment

Filed under author: jane austen, Classics, Fiction