Daily Archives: December 29, 2011

Fall Into Reading – Conclusion


Hosted By: Callapider Days
September 23 – December 21, 2011

So, I always have a list of books I want to read for this challenge and rarely finish them … but I think the goal is to just have a goal and cross some stuff off. This year of reading was a little crazy and I haven’t had much time this fall/winter to do as much as I would have hoped.

You can check out my original list here but overall I read a total of 29 books and 14 of them were off my original list … not a bad percentage.

Here’s what I read off my original list:

  1. The Tangible Kingdomby Halter Smay
  2. The Zen of Social Media Marketing by Shama Hyder Kabani
  3. Truly, Madly, Deadly: The Unofficial True Blooe Companion by Becca Wilcott
  4. Stuff White People Like by Christian Lander
  5. Spook by Mary Roach
  6. Vengeance in Death
  7. Holiday in Death
  8. Midnight in Death
  9. Conspiracy in Death
  10. Loyalty in Death
  11. The Wedding
  12. At First Sight
  13. Sinner by Tess Gerritsen
  14. Final Warning by James Patterson

I didn’t do much blogging this fall, but I wanted to answer some of the questions throughout the challenge:

How much do book reviews influence your decision to acquire and/or read a book?
I don’t think it influences too much, but sometimes. I will often pick a book more from a recommendation from a friend or family member before something I read. But still, there are a handful of books I’ve written down to read from mentions in magazines.

How often do you re-read books? What does it take to make you re-read?
Not very often. I’ve re-read the Women’s Murder Club series, some of the Southern Vampire series, and Pride & Prejudice multiple times, but there are so many good books I want to read in my life than it’s hard to re-read something when I can read something new.

On what devices, if any, do you read books? Or are you strictly a “physical book” reader?
Overall I’m a “physical book” reader. I love technology but enjoy holding a book much more than a computer device. I do have an iPad and have read from it on occasion when traveling, but prefer the actual book if I can.

How large is your personal/family collection of books? And where do you keep them?
LARGE! It’s basically my personal collection but I have inherited a collection of old books. I currently have four  five shelf bookcases in my living room that are filled top to bottom, plus two older bookcases with the classics. According to my LibraryThing collection I have almost 600 books in my collection. But this doesn’t include these older inherited books.

Do you skim? Or are you faithful to read every word?
I prefer to read every word … especially if it’s a book that requires more attention to detail and is not just a cozy mystery. If I’m bored I will skim more.

When it comes to fiction, are you more of a “plot person” or a “character person”? If you had to choose, which concept would win out when it comes to picking and loving a book: plot or character?
I would choose character. If I don’t like the character, can’t relate or don’t feel like they are developed enough then the plot doesn’t matter because I already stopped caring. Sometimes a plot wins to begin with but then the characters get better as I get further in.

Where do you love to read? Do you have a favorite chair, a favorite room, a favorite place…somewhere that inspires you to put everything else aside and pick up a book?
I love reading by water in the summer or while laying out. It’s so peaceful and quiet. I’m still on the hunt for the perfect chair and stool combo to create a great reading space but haven’t found it yet. Otherwise, I read a lot on my couch or in bed.

What else do you do while you are reading? Eat? Drink? Household tasks? Or do you usually put aside absolutely everything to focus solely on the book at hand?
I can watch some TV shows while I read … or movies. I will also listen to audiobooks a lot when I am driving. Otherwise, I’ll drink tea or wine, have a snack and hang out. I don’t move around much. I like to focus.

In what ways do you encourage others to read or support their reading habits? How do you share your love of reading with others?
I talk about reading a lot but if someone doesn’t read much I will buy them a book to “start” them out that I think they will enjoy. I try not to force it too much because some people just need to time but I think for everyone if you can find them the right book and style, they will find it all on their own.

Share a special memory relating to books or reading — something you’ll never forget.
I’ve been reading since I was born, I swear. I used to be the kid in elementary or junior high who would read 5 books a week when others hardly read any. I remember one road trip to Yellowstone where I read five or six Sandra Brown books over three days. I took a little hiatus during school but was so excited to start reading again more.

Christmas is quickly approaching. What book- or reading-related gift would you love to receive for Christmas?
I love this question and even though Christmas is over I did give quite a few reading related gifts. I gave to great “guy” books to my cousin’s husband, Steve Jobs to another cousin’s husband, a couple books to my mom, and then a great book gift set to my boss. I love bookish gifts!

1 Comment

Filed under challenges

REVIEW: Loyalty in Death

Title: Loyalty in Death
Author: J.D. Robb
Finished: December 20, 2011
Pages: 358
Published: 1999
Format: paperback

In the latest Eve Dallas story in my progression, Eve is faced with possibly the worst terrorist group so far and with every passing minute her team and her husband come closer to death.

I found this book to be better than last, I don’t know how each one can continue to be better than the others, but I found myself on the edge of my seat the whole time waiting to find out what happens next.

I feel like this book is leading up to a key point in Eve and Roarke’s life and I can’t wait to pick up the next book.

*challenges: fall into reading, 11 in 11 reading challenge, 100+ reading challenge, off the shelf, in death reading challenge

Leave a comment

Filed under author: jd robb, Fiction

REVIEW: Twilight Graphic Novel Vol. 2

Title: Twilight Graphic Novel Vol. 2
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Finished: December 8, 2011
Pages: 240
Published: 2011
Format: First Edition

The second graphic novel, and final volume, of the first book, was just as fun to read and the first.

Of course, having read the actual book, nothing was a surprise but it was very fun to see the photo adaptation and graphic portion of the book while reading. It’s almost better than watching the movie because you get to see the most important pieces of the book and how it would be portrayed.

Highly recommend it for any Twilight fan.

*challenges: 11 in 11 reading challenge, 100+ reading challenge, countdown challenge

Leave a comment

Filed under author: stephenie meyer, Graphic Novel

REVIEW: Troublemaker Book 1

Title: Troublemaker Book 1
Author: Janet Evanovich
Finished: December 7, 2011
Pages: 106
Published: 2010
Format: First Edition

I read these a little backwards because I came across book two before book one at the library and wanted to check it out.

The graphic novels gave a great introduction into Alex Barnaby and I look forward to picking up the other books in the series and trying them out.

Book 1 is the set up for how Barnaby and Hooker find themselves with a wooden hand and hunted by some mysterious men for a reason they don’t fully understand. It’s pull of voodoo and intrigue.

Fun graphic novel.

*challenges: 11 in 11 reading challenge, 100+ reading challenge, countdown challenge, monthly mixup

Leave a comment

Filed under author: janet evanovich, Graphic Novel