Booking Through Thursday – Well, That Was Different


Question: What was the most unusual (for you) book you ever read? Either because the book itself was completely from out in left field somewhere, or was a genre you never read, or was the only book available on a long flight… whatever? What (not counting school textbooks, though literature read for classes counts) was furthest outside your usual comfort zone/familiar territory?

And, did you like it? Did it stretch your boundaries? Did you shut it with a shudder the instant you were done? Did it make you think? Have nightmares? Kick off a new obsession?

Answer: Off the top of my head, I think the most unusual book for me was Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. I knew it was different, and that Hunter S. Thompson had a different feel for his writing because most of it came after drinking heavily or taking drugs. Fear and Loathing felt like I was on my first drug trip ever, sometimes hard to follow or figure out where he was going and often times I had to put it down and let my brain relax. He did an amazing job putting the reader right into the situation.

I tend to avoid books that don’t appeal to me or are outside my comfort zone because I don’t want to waste my time if I don’t end up enjoying it. I tend to read a lot of fiction (ie Patterson, King). I think the Harry Potter series was a first for me because it’s more science fiction/fantasy than I usually read and I’m not always fond of living in an alternate world that’s completely made up. I did end up enjoying it very much, very easy reads, which is why I don’t feel as hesitant now. I’m sure more adult science fiction/fantasy will be harder for me to pick up with everything else on my book list to read, but it doesn’t mean it’s out of the question anymore. But, like most Harry Potter fanatics, book four has been quietly sitting on my shelf since January when I finished book 3. I haven’t been sucked in yet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Booking Through Thursday

Leave a Reply

