BTT – Conditioning


btt button

Mariel suggested this week’s question.

Are you a spine breaker? Or a dog-earer? Do you expect to keep your books in pristine condition even after you have read them? Does watching other readers bend the cover all the way round make you flinch or squeal in pain?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

I’m pretty good about keeping my books in great shape, especially classics or those that are bought brand new or have some sort of special meaning. Recently I have bought or traded older and used books so  they already have their share of wear. On paperbacks, I don’t care much for a bend in the spine, and I used to dog-ear pages but have since stopped because if they outside can’t be pretty then I want the inside to be. I have purchased a number of bookmarks which are more effective and less likely for the page to get lost. What other people do with their books is their choice. I’m not here to judge. :)

I don’t expect my books to stay new. That’s the great part, is the more worn they look the more you know they are loved and read. Some I find are nearly indestructible, others are fragile and even starting to fall apart. A large quantity of books I own are easily replaceable if something was to happen, but even seeing them bent and bruised makes me think they’ve lived a good life.


4 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday

4 responses to “BTT – Conditioning

  1. the more worn they look the more you know they are loved and read

    I feel the same way.

  2. I agree that a well-loved book is a good thing, but there is certainly a difference between loved and read versus abused and destroyed.

  3. Paperback books are difficult/impossible to keep pristine.

  4. I actually like seeing beat-up books in the public library, because that means someone has been reading them! But I try to take good care of my own.

Leave a Reply

