Daily Archives: January 26, 2009

Weekly Geeks 09 – Issue 3 – Classics

wg31

I’m jumping back into the WG bandwagon. I haven’t had much of a chance to participate in 2009, but I really would still like it.

This week is a two parter – or at least two questions.

All the details HERE.

1) How do you feel about classic literature? Are you intimidated by it? Love it? Not sure because you never actually tried it? Don’t get why anyone reads anything else? Which classics, if any, have you truly loved? Which would you recommend for someone who has very little experience reading older books? Go all out, sell us on it!

I love classic literature, more so now than ever before. I know there is quite a lot out there I don’t have a huge interest in reading, but I probably will regardless. I love all Jane Austen, even though I’ve only read 3, I look forward to reading the others. I think for any female or romantic who loves a good romance/love story, Austen is the way to go. I’ve read so much wide variety in the past couple years that I  can’t choose others.

I know I’m not a huge fan of H.G. Wells only because of the scientific nature of the story, yet I’ve read a lot of his works and will probably continue to read more.

4) As you explore the other Weekly Geeks posts: Did any inspire you to want to read a book you’ve never read before—or reread one to give it another chance? Tell us all about it, including a link to the post or posts that sparked your interest. If you end up reading the book, be sure to include a link to your post about it in a future Weekly Geeks post!

I took a glance around at almost all the posts so far just to see what would strink my fancy. I saw a lot of people enjoyed books I had read last year, and ones I would never thought of. I am always inspired to reread The Grapes of Wrath, Of Mice and Men, and others books of that era only because when I read them it was forced up at school.

One page I ran across mentioned two books I want to read this year for my John Steinbeck Challenge, East of Eden and The Pearl, which seemed so coincidental but I was glad to hear more. Thanks to Behold, the thing that reads a lot for the tip.

3 Comments

Filed under Weekly Geek

Book to Film – The Reader

the-reader_stills_034

Book Review.

This is one of the first movies I have seen that is almost identical to the book it was fashioned after.

The Reader is about a 15 year old boy who has an affair with a woman twice his age. After a summer long romance she disappears, leaving the kid wondering what happened, until ten years later he sees her on trial for murder.

I watched the movie before reading the book and was mesmerized by the story of this relationship that developed so quickly and unexpectedly.

The main difference I found between the book and the film was that the book was separated into three different parts for the different periods in Michael’s life, while the movie incorporated Michael’s later life into tell us the story.

During the film I was surprised at how I managed to be surprised at all the little twists and towards Hanna’s secret even up until the reveal. It made watching the film more enjoyable and the book a faster read because I just wanted to find out more.

I did feel more emotional towards the film and felt the chemistry between the characters more raw and intimate than when reading the book. The book almost made the coupling of the characters as a bad thing, while in the movie I almost forgot Michael’s age.

I was also conflicted by how you can’t love and hate a character all at the same time. As a viewer I wanted Hanna to be a lovable person, to pity her and feel for her, but during the trial you almost aren’t sure whether or not she can be a likable character. Even after her secret is fully revealed, as a viewer/reader it’s hard to come to terms with the real feelings you have for Hanna.

Continue reading

4 Comments

Filed under book to film

The Reader

the_readerTitle: The Reader
Author: Bernhard Schlink
Finished: January 25
Pages: 218
Published: 1995
Challenges: Book to Movie Challenge, A-Z Challenge, 999 Challenge, 50/100+ Challenge, Support Your Local Library, New Authors, Book vs Movie Challenge

When a 15 year old boy falls in love with a woman twice his age and spends a summer engaging in an affair with her, he’s bound to live with it for the rest of his life.  Michael didn’t realize that Hanna had a secret until one day she disappeared and then resurfaced ten years later while on trial for murder.

This was an amazing book that I wish I had known about a long time ago. The romantic love affair between the two characters and their struggle to move on with their lives is amazing. Schlink does an amazing job capturing the relationship between Michael and Hanna even while telling the story through one person’s eyes.

12 Comments

Filed under 1,001 Books, Fiction

The Witches

the-witchesTitle: The Witches
Author: Roald Dahl
Finished: January 24
Pages: 208
Published: 1983
Challenges: Decades Challenge, Book to Movie Challenge, A-Z Challenge, 999 Challenge, 50/100+ Challenge, Support Your Local Library, 2nds Challenge

A children’s book, turned to movie, about a young boy whose grandmother tells him the story of witches and how to detect them. When the grandmother and boy go on vacation they end up staying in the hotel where the witches have the conference and all chaos breaks loose.

It was a fun and quick easy read. Roald Dahl is the master of creative stories for children that you never think of yourself. They are wildly popular and I look forward to reading more of them in the future.

9 Comments

Filed under author: roald dahl, Children