Daily Archives: January 27, 2009

King Henry IV Part 1 and 2

Title: King Henry IV Part 1 and Part 2
Author: William Shakespeare
Finished: 1) Jan 22; and 2) Jan 27
Challenges: Shakespeare Challenge

I’ve started some of the histories off recommendations. I enjoyed it a lot more than I imagined I would. I’m planning to start part 2 soon so I can find out what happens.

I feel like I enjoyed the first part much more than this second part, but I also many be realizing that the comedies and tragedies are much more suited for me than histories.

After doing some research I found that Part 2 is not as popular as Part 1, so now I understand why.

Leave a comment

Filed under author: shakespeare

Tuesday Thingers – Open Shelves Classification

tuesdaythingers1

Prior to today, were you aware of Open Shelves Classification? Have you helped to classify any books yet? Is this something you are interested in? Did you know that if you classify any books, it will also show you who else has classified the book?

I’ve been hearing more and more about this lately, but honestly I wouldn’t even know what to do and where to start. I am a big classification person and use this in my own collections at home, but this somehow seems bigger. Since it’s already become so popular and there are a lot of people involved I wouldn’t even know where to begin.

I could see myself becoming interested in it and wanting to help out but currently it seems more complicated for someone who hasn’t been in from the beginning.

Leave a comment

Filed under tuesday thingers

What’s on Your Nightstand? – January

nightstand

I have anxiously been awaiting this months What’s on Your Nightstand? because it seems like forever since the last one happened. Plus I’ve done a lot of reading this month and have a lot coming up.

The last book I finished was The Reader. I did a duel review because I also saw the film. The reviews can be found here and here.

I have been taking my time on reading If You Want to Write by Brenda Ueland, which will hopefully help inspire me to sit down and start writing again. I am also starting The Host for book club this coming month. I’ve heard mixed reviews about it so hopefully I will enjoy it.

The Winter Reading Challenge ends March 20, 2009 so my next five books will be dedicated directly to this. They are:

  • A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley
  • Mystic River by Dennis Lehane
  • Pop Goes the Weasel by James Patterson
  • C is for Corpse by Sue Grafton
  • Three to Get Deadly by Janet Evanovich

Most of these also correspond with other challenges as well so I’m looking forward to reading all of them.

So, what’s on your nightstand?

5 Comments

Filed under What's On Your Nightstand?