Daily Archives: January 31, 2009

January Review

January was a very productive month and a great start to a new year. Last year in January I read 1 book, so this is extreme progress.

Books Read:

  1. The Secret (from TBR)
  2. Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz
  3. Trunk Music (from TBR)
  4. You Know You’re a Writer When (from TBR)
  5. Moby Dick
  6. One Fifth Avenue
  7. Spiderwick Chronicles: The Field Guide
  8. Then He Ate My Boy Entrancers
  9. Aesop’s Fables
  10. Middlesex (from TBR)
  11. Robinson Crusoe
  12. The Witches
  13. The Reader
  14. If You Want to Write
  15. Persepolis I
  16. Spiderwick Chronicles: The Seeing Stone

Books Added to collection:

  1. Manhunt by Janet Evanovich
  2. Full House by Janet Evanovich
  3. Black Beauty by Sewell
  4. The Host by Stephenie Meyer
  5. Heath by Janet Fife-Yeomans
  6. Love Letters of Great Men by John C. Kirkland
  7. The Associate by John Grisham

I currently have 164 books in the TBR pile. Next month I hope to double the amount read from this compared to this month. I should also be able to finish my Winter Reading Challenge as well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Persepolis I

persepolisTitle: Persepolis I
Author: Marjane Satrapi
Finished: January 30, 2009
Pages: 153
Challenges: Book to Movie Challenge, A-Z Challenge, 999 Challenge, 50/100+ Challenge, Support Your Local Library Challenge, New Authors Challenge, 1st in Series, Book vs Movie Challenge

Read this in little over a day. Very quick and easy to read, especially after viewing the film which was not in English as the book. It’s such an amazing story that I’m disappointed I didn’t pick up the complete Persepolis instead to continue on reading, but now have to wait.

The story is about a young girl growing up during war and revolution, watching change in Iran during the 70s and 80s.

It was amazing to read and my first graphic novel. Highly recommend to anyone.

Other Reviews:
Chrisbookarama

5 Comments

Filed under adapted to film, Non-Fiction