Weekly Geeks 2009-06


For this week’s edition of Weekly Geeks, we’re going to take a closer look at character names. What are some of your favorite character names?

Go to Google or a baby name site and look up a favorite character’s name. What does their name mean? Do you think the meaning fits the character? Why or why not?

If you’d like, look up your own name as well and share the meaning.

I can’t really think of a whole lot of favorite character names, only those that stand out or are very familiar. Alex Cross is one I will know forever. I like the name Kinsey (from Sue Grafton’s ABC Series) and Stephanie Plum is just a great combination and brings out a picture of a character more sweet and pristine and not so much a bounty hunter. I also like Lindsay Boxer because the last name is not one I’ve heard before.

Meanings

  • Kinsey – Royal Victory
  • Alex – Defending Men
  • Stephanie – Crown
  • Lindsay – Uncertain
3 Comments

Filed under Weekly Geek

3 responses to “Weekly Geeks 2009-06

  1. Hi, came here from BTT. Your posts, like this one, have given me some ideas for my own. Thanks.

    One of my favorite characters is Andrew Wiggen from Ender’s Game. Andrew means manly and strong, which I suppose fits given the circumstances he’s forced into.

    I went to the Weekly Geek’s site but didn’t see where the questions are posted. I didn’t think my eyesight was that bad.

  2. I love Kinsey too. i think she is amazing and I think Royal Victory suits her. And Alex’s name definitely fits too. Those are too of my all time favorite characters

Leave a Reply

