The Notebook


400hcover_thenotebookTitle: The Notebook
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Finished: April 4, 2009
Pages: 214
Published: 1996

Nicholas Sparks’ first novel about two young lovers who are separated after one summer together to lead their own lives only to have fate bring them back together years later.

I found a lot of hype around this love story of a modern Romeo and Juliet, and around the movie. While I enjoyed the movie and the book, I don’t think it’s going to be my favorite Sparks novel by far. It’s only my second by him, and yet it’s my second favorite. I find many times that the first novel for some authors is not their best and their writing grows over the years, so this may be true for Sparks.

However, I did enjoy this story of Allie and Noah and look forward to more Nicholas Sparks novels in the future.

*Challenges – Book Into Movie Challenge, 999 Challenge, 50/100+ Challenge, Romance Reading Challenge, 2nds Challenge, TBR Challenge, Book vs. Movie Challenge, Spring Reading Thing, Book Binge

Other Review: Reading With Tequila

14 Comments

Filed under adapted to film, author: nicholas sparks, Fiction

14 responses to “The Notebook

  1. Pingback: 999 Challenge « reading comes from writing

  2. Pingback: 50/100 Book Challenges « reading comes from writing

  3. Pingback: Romance Reading Challenge 2009 « reading comes from writing

  4. Pingback: 2nds Challenge 2009 « reading comes from writing

  5. Pingback: Book vs. Movie Challenge « reading comes from writing

  6. Pingback: Spring Reading Thing 2009 « reading comes from writing

  7. Pingback: Book Binge 2009 « reading comes from writing

  8. The Notebook was my first Nicholas Sparks novel. i really quite enjoyed it – although i didn’t expect to. (it was a book club pick.) The Wedding continues with Allie and Noah’s story – and i think i liked it even better.

    which other Nicholas Sparks book have you read?

  9. Pingback: It’s Monday. What are you reading? « reading comes from writing

  10. florence russell

    This is the first time I have seen this movie and loved it. I love to cry nd cried I did. I must now get the book and read it. After reading some comments I see there is a continuation of NoahAnd Allie

  11. Pingback: Book vs. Movie Challenge – COMPLETE « reading comes from writing

  12. todie Southern

    I absolutely love the movie. I have heard the many books that have been made into movies and so I figure he must be good. I’m definitely going to read it.

  13. The Notebook is of course one of Nick Sparks best tear jearker novel. Nick is really very talented guy ~;,

  14. JM

    the sequel to the notebook is The wedding… one of the best books i ever read

Leave a Reply

