Uglies


ugliesTitle: Uglies
Author: Scott Westerfled
Finished: June 9, 2009
Pages: 425
Published: 2005

My first attempt at this highly recommended young adult series.

Uglies is how at the age of 16 all teens must undergo a transformational surgery to become a “pretty” and join all the other pretties in New Pretty Town. Except it appears not all uglies want to become pretty.

I was excited to start reading this series because I’ve heard so much about it, and when I did I suddenly felt that I had just read a YA version of The Host by Stephenie Meyer, in a sense.

While I enjoyed reading this book, flying through the pages and very interested what was going to happen to the characters from beginning to end, I wasn’t as excited to start book 2 as I thought. It’s on my shelf and ready to go, so I will be reading it soon, but I think as the series goes on I will become even more interested in this idea of a new world.

Challenges: Scott Westerfeld Mini-Challenge, A-Z Challenge, 999 Challenge, 100+ Challege, Countdown Challenge, New Author Challenge, RYOB Challenge, YA Challenge, 1st in Series Challenge, TBR Challenge, Spring Reading Thing

Other reviews: Whimpulsive, Reading With Tequila, Under the Boardwalk, Lost in Books

12 Comments

Filed under Young Adult

12 responses to “Uglies

  1. Pingback: 2009 Mini Challenges « reading comes from writing

  2. Pingback: 999 Challenge « reading comes from writing

  3. Pingback: 100+ Book Challenges « reading comes from writing

  4. Pingback: New Author Challenge « reading comes from writing

  5. Pingback: The Countdown Challenge « reading comes from writing

  6. Pingback: Read Your Own Books Challenge 2009 « reading comes from writing

  7. Pingback: Spring Reading Thing 2009 « reading comes from writing

  8. I’ve got to say, i just loved this book, and I loved Pretties even more. Specials wasn’t as good for me.

  9. Nan

    I just finished this book and I really liked it! I do want to read the next one, but I feel like I need to take a break from books about dystopian societies. I read this right after reading The Hunger Games, so I need a bit of a change. LOVED both of the books, I just need a theme change. Have you read The Hunger Games?

  10. They’re making a movie about this series. I’m not sure if it’ll be as good as the books.

  11. I’ve got this on my shelf, so I’m going to hopefully get it read this summer. Glad you liked it! I haven’t read The Host yet – but you may like Skinned by Robin Wasserman. http://www.robinwasserman.com/skinned.html It’s a new series that I found myself liking.

  12. Pingback: 2009 YA Challenge « reading comes from writing

Leave a Reply

