Daily Archives: September 22, 2009

What’s on Your Nightstand – September

nightstand

I got some reading done, but nothing like I expected. Some books are taking me forever to read, which makes me switch to easier ones just to see some progress. I’m hoping with fall coming in, the warm weather going out, I’ll be able to get some more reading done inside. As you can tell I hardly read anything off my list. Roughly half. My new list is very similiar.

September’s List

  • Big Bad Wolf (999 Challenge)
  • London Bridges (999 Challenge)
  • Mary Mary (999 Challenge/Countdown Challenge)
  • Cross (999 Challenge)
  • Double Cross (999 Challenge)
  • Lady Chatterley’s Lover (Decades Challenge)
  • Roxana (Daniel Defoe Challenge)
  • The English Patient (Summer Reading Challenge)
  • Spook (Summer Reading Challenge)
  • High Five (Summer Reading Challenge)
  • The Shack (Summer Reading Challenge)
  • D is for Deadbeat (Summer Reading Challenge)
  • Secrets of the Morning (Summer Reading Challenge)

Reading in October

  • Double Cross (999 Challenge)
  • Lady Chatterley’s Lover (Decades Challenge)
  • Roxana (Daniel Defoe Challenge)
  • The English Patient (Summer Reading Challenge)
  • Spook (Summer Reading Challenge)
  • The Shack (Summer Reading Challenge)
  • Secrets of the Morning (Summer Reading Challenge)
  • Hot Six (Stephanie Plum Challenge)

I’m  going to start shortening my list up, since I can’t seem to stick to it very well. I’m still (still) working on Gone With the Wind, but it’s on the back burner for awhile. I’m also hoping to get Generation Kill read as it will be due back to the library before long. Smash Cut is still in progress but in no hurry anymore, but I love Sandra Brown so I hope to start back up with this one soon as well.

1 Comment

Filed under What's On Your Nightstand?

Summer Reading Challenge – DNF

Summer Challenge 2009_thumb[2]

The challenge ran from June 21, 09 – September 21, 09 and hosted by A Summer Daydreamer Reads.

I’m semi-disappointed that I didn’t manage to finish this one, it’s been the first in awhile I haven’t completed, however, I read so many other books in addition to the ones I did complete, that it didn’t feel like a total waste. I didn’t read four of my ten books, BUT I’m determined to not let them slip by, so they will be the first reads for the Fall Into Reading Challenge that starts today.

MY LIST:

  1. Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur GoldenAUGUST 23, 09
  2. The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje
  3. Run For Your Life by James PattersonAUGUST 8, 09
  4. Four Blind Mice by James PattersonAUGUST 1, 09
  5. Big Bad Wolf by James PattersonSEPTEMBER 1, 09
  6. Spook by Mary Roach
  7. High Five by Janet EvanovichSEPTEMBER 18, 09
  8. The Shack by William P. Young
  9. D is for Deadbeat by Sue GraftonSEPTEMBER 21, 09
  10. Secrets of the Morning by V.C. Andrews

Leave a comment

Filed under challenges

REVIEW: D is for Deadbeat

dTitle: D is for Deadbeat
Author: Sue Grafton
Finished: September 21, 2009
Pages: 240
Published: 1987

It’s been awhile since I picked up a Kinsey Millhone book, but this one did not disappoint, moved quicker than the others, and help my attention to the very end.

It’s taken me awhile to get into these books, but I’m finding that after each one I enjoy them a little more. Kinsey Millhone is a great private investigator who is just a regular woman working in the world. There is no drama associated with her, which is probably why its hard to get into them. She cuts straight through to the important stuff and doesn’t dwell on unnecessaries.

This time Kinsey is hired by a man to deliver a check, not knowing the real circumstances behind it. She soon comes to find out that she was tricked, no one is who they say they are, and everyone is keeping a secret. I even had doubts about who the possible killer could be until the very end when all pieces started fitting together.

*challenges: 100+ challenge, 999×2 challenge, summer reading challenge

Other Reviews:

3 Comments

Filed under author: sue grafton, Fiction

Fall Into Reading Challenge 2009

FIR09Large-300x283

Hosted By: Callapidder Days
Sept 22 – Dec 20, 2009

My Goal – 15 books

This is one of the first challenges I ever joined, and one of my favorite, for some reason. The sign up isn’t quite yet, but we’re closing in now that September has started and I wanted to begin brainstorming what I really want to read by the end of the year. Last year I committed to 18 books, but only finished 14. That’s not going to happen this year.

I’m bringing over the 4 books I didn’t finish for the Summer Reading Challenge and then the other 11 reads will be books needed to complete other challenges as well.

My List:

  1. The Shack by William P. Young
  2. The English Patient by Michael Ondaaje
  3. Spook by Mary Roach
  4. Secrets of the Morning by V.C. Andrews
  5. Hot Six by Janet Evanovich
  6. Dangerous Days of Daniel X by James Patterson
  7. Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H. Lawrence
  8. Roxana by Daniel Defoe
  9. Generation Kill by Evan Wright
  10. Double Cross by James Patterson
  11. Emma by Jane Austen
  12. Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
  13. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  14. Pretties by Scott Westerfeld
  15. Cross Country by James Patterson

Alternates:

  • TBD

4 Comments

Filed under challenges