REVIEW: Flowers in the Attic


Title: Flowers in the Attic
Author: V.C. Andrews
Finished: December 5, 2010
Pages: 411
Published: 1979
Format: paperback

This is only my second Andrews book, but I sense a pattern already which makes me very undecided about reading more of her books. I’m sure it’s pure coincidence that the two I have read have similar storylines – children abandoned or without their original families.

Flowers in the Attic was a very graphic and tragic tale of a family torn apart by death and their struggle for survival. Although I’m undecided about these books, the fact that this is a cliffhanger story and in order to find out what truly happens I need to continue the series.

There were so many things wrong with this story and what happens to the children, you feel for them and want to help them if you could. You want to scream at their mother and wonder why she let the terrible things happen and still never understood what was going on or the consequences.

I wouldn’t be surprised if I picked up the next book in the series before too long. It makes me want to find out the history of V.C. Andrews and her reasoning behind the stories she writes.

*challenges: fall into reading, 1010 category challenge, books to read before i die, a-z challenge, 30 books to movies, 1st in series, book blogger recommendations, december 12×12

Other Reviews:

Leave a comment

Filed under adapted to film, author: vc andrews, banned books, Fiction

Leave a Reply

