REVIEW: The Sherlockian


Title: The Sherlockian
Author: Graham Moore
Finished: March 31, 2011
Pages: 350
Published: 2010
Format: First Edition

I saw this book awhile back in a store and it look intriguing, so when I ran across it at the library and I figured it was a sign.

The Sherlockian is a fictional account of the mystery behind the missing diary of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and the strange happenings that resulted.

While fictional, Moore used real life accounts, stories, news articles, and anything else he could find, plus a great imagination, to great a dual world of intrigue and mystery.

I love the way he sets up the book, alternating chapters between the present and the past, showing the time during the missing diary as well as the newest Sherlockian and his new reporter friend as they search for a killer and the missing diary.

It took me some time to get into the story, but once I had a grasp I found myself flying through the quick chapters, waiting for the next shoe to fall, mystery, clue or adventure. It almost felt as if I was reading a non-fiction story about the actual happenings and couldn’t help but sink deeper in, like I was right there with them.

Great book and good job!

*challenges: new authors, mystery & suspense challenge, 100+ challenge, support your local library challenge, 11 in 11 reading challenge, spring reading thing

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

Leave a Reply

